Alta @ NYC

20090716 Crispy Brusell Sprouts Granny Smith Apples @ Alta, NYC

Crispy Brussel Sprouts with Granny Smith Apples, Crème Fraîche, and Pistachio Nuts

I’m the sort of person who enjoys doing research before dining, and I’ll admit that a treasured  Monday morning ritual is to get on the phone and on Opentable.com to make the week’s reservations. I find it extremely comforting and not weird at all that I know exactly where I at least could eat every night for the next month or so. Because of this and because they like to humor my foodie hobby, I am usually the meal organiser within my group of friends. Every once in a while though, I take a chance and accept an invitation without doing any background reading, and in the case of the unobtrusive Alta, am completely blown away! The $400 Whole Shebang option recommended for parties of 9 or more, entails being served all 46 dishes on the menu!!! It only has a food rating of 23 on Zagat, but in my humble opinion, the dizzying array of inventive small plates with such cosmopolitan and confusingly complementary components such as Danish Pork Ribs Roasted with Kecap Manis and Coriander, places Alta within the highest echelon of practitioners of the art of tapas. For your next team dinner or group celebration be sure to stop by for unforgettable feasting. Special thanks to Jay for the recommendation.

Details: 64 W 10th St New York, NY 10011-8702 (+1-212-505-7777)

One response to “Alta @ NYC

  1. that dish looks and sounds bizarrely appetizing. i’d definitely eat it.

Leave a Reply

